top of page

Personal Accounts of 1984: A Time We Cannot Forget

Disclaimer: These personal accounts of 1984 are explicit. We dedicate this article to the families who have suffered with the mental and physical trauma of the 1984 Sikh Genocide. Bhul Chuk Maaf.


Many Sikhs still remember 1984 as a horrific time. To this day, some even tremble while talking about it. In June of 1984, Indra Gandhi ordered a military assault on the most significant religious center for Sikhs, Darbar Sahib, in Amritsar. This attack killed thousands of civilians. That is also known to be Operation Blue Star. The roots of Operation Blue Star started with the Khalistan Movement. The Khalistan Movement was a political national movement that wanted to create an independent state for Sikhs. Jarnail Singh Bhindranwale, who was the leader of the Damdami Taksal, was another main factor in Operation Blue star. Bhindranwale had a very heavy impact on the youth of Punjab. Bhindranwale and the Khalistan supporters had been occupied at the Akal Takht, including the Golden Temple. The main purpose of Operation Blue Star was to eliminate Sant Jarnail Singh Bhrindranwale along with the other Sikhs and regain control over Harmandir Sahib. The 1984 anti-Sikh riots led with the assassination of the Prime Minister of India, Indra Gandhi, by her 2 Sikh bodyguards. Due to the mass killing in Darbar Sahib. This sparked a number of riots in India. Causing the Indian army to get involved. It seemed as if Sikhs were left on their own to survive in their own country. Many people have lived through it, and hearing their stories will leave you in sorrow. It’s difficult to see people talk about their personal experience, and It's even more difficult for the person to talk about it. Here, I have 3 different people who opened up their hearts and spoke out about the worst time in their lives:


Story 1:


“In the year 1984, my mom lived near Harmandir Sahib. My mom was asleep on the terrace. She woke up to the sounds of gunshots coming from across the Gurdwara. She could hear screams and people running here and there crying. She was taken to one of the shops with more than 25 people in it. There were also people nearby who were hiding in the shops where they quickly closed the shutters of the shop. The gunshots were continuous along with the screams and cries people let out. People were mumbling prayers at the time. There were people screaming outside saying to stay inside and hide. People from the shop were still very scared and worried for the people outside. One person had gone out to check if anyone else needed a place to hide. Meanwhile my mom and this uncle were looking for people outside who still needed a place to hide. Soon my mom ran to her home with the uncle. Many others were trying to see what was happening in the gurdwara. In a matter of seconds a man who was trying to see what was going on was shot. My mom was traumatized. Later my mother was taken to a much safer place. With all of this happening she still isn't able to forget the loud screams, tears and blood she saw.”

This is very painful to read. Being young and having to experience so much. It's shocking how your whole world can turn upside down in a matter of seconds. 1984 left many people with trauma. Amritsar is where it got way worse: more than 100 army troops were killed and several hundred wounded. More than 1,500 Sikhs were arrested in the operation.


Story 2:


“My mother had told me about my uncle and how he was in Delhi during the time Bhai Satwant Singh ji shaheed and Bhai Beant Singh ji shaheed had shot and killed Indra Gandhi for Operation Blue Star. When my mother told me, I brought this topic up with my uncle the next time I saw him. He told me of how he was with his uncle at the time working when a group of many armed men started coming towards him. Both of them ran away to avoid being burnt, but unfortunately, my uncle’s uncle was caught and beaten to death or till he lost consciousness and probably also burnt too, my uncle kept running, and eventually found a place to hide. When the situation cooled down a bit, he found his way back to the factory he worked at with his uncle, but when he got there, his fellow workers grabbed him and forcefully cut his hair to save his life. He was eventually called back to Punjab afterwards. My grandma wasn't able to handle it. Her mental state had not been the same.”

Not only were the people who ran traumatized but even many families were in great grief. Many lost family members and it's hard to deal with the loss of a loved one. This time in history was not easy for anyone. Families had to adapt in their current situation. Some moved away, some lost incomes but they had to adjust to life. After listening to the story I couldn't imagine what it had looked like. Many families lost loved ones and others fled to different countries for their own protection. The Indian police wasn't even doing anything for the protection of Sikhs. It felt as if Sikhs had no one to turn to. Even after so much they did for India. Many had mentioned how Sikhs were always there for the protection of Hindus but when they needed protection only a few could have been trusted.


Story 3:


“I remember going to the gurdwara here in Palatine, IL. Heading towards the langar hall they had a sign which said “NEVER FORGET 1984”. Little did I know that my dad had a past with it. On the way home I had asked my father what it was and he was in a sudden stage of remembrance. I was confused on why he ignored the topic. My mom had told me that we would discuss this later. Hearing what he had to go through and just putting myself in this situation had me intimidated. He started off by asking me “Do you know why I cut my hair?”. I wasn't quite sure why so I asked him to tell me. He started off by telling me that it hurts him to talk about it. He started off by telling me that everyone is equal. No matter where you come from, what your religion or beliefs are, we are all equal. Someone's actions can't justify who the entire race is. People are different but we must learn to respect one another. He told me about how Indra Gandhi was assasinated and how it sparked the Sikh genocide. The majority of people in India started to hate Sikhs and I found that very hurtful. My father had told me that in Delhi, where he lived, it was horrifying for those few days. My father was with his friends that day near his shop. Soon after they were leaving the shop they saw [murderers] butchering Sikhs in Delhi. My father was horrified to see it. Sikhs were getting dragged around one by one and killed. My father had a Hindu friends. He was able to sneak out with them around the allies. They later saw a Sikh man looking for Hindus. Luckily, they made it back near my father’s shop. The man saw my father’s friends and he was going to call them out. My father helped protect them by talking to the man and saying that murdering isn't the way. He said that if Sikhs are getting killed it doesn't mean we kill back other innocent people, it would escalate things. The man had agreed with my father and soon my father was able to take many people into his shop for safety. The genocide had continued for a few days and my father wasn't able to do anything. He was so horrified that he had cut his hair. Till this day he regrets his decision but he was happy that he was able to save lives.”

Nowadays many movies have been released on the topic of 1984. The way they portray it in movies is exactly what people saw happening. Swords, weapons, people being dragged and killed and you weren't assured safety in your own country if you were Sikh. The movie 31st October did a phenomenal job portraying reality. The way Sikhs were portrayed in the movie was very accurate. They showed Sikhs as very helpful and generous people. A man in the movie had blamed a Sikh man and kept on going on and on about how someone's actions impact the rest of the people. Some argued and said that others should not be punished just because 2 people made a mistake. Now prior to the assassination, I mentioned how it was a planned genocide by the Indian Government. That's not what others thought. All that the people noticed was how the Prime Minister was assassinated. Not many understood how Indra Gandhi's decisions led to a mass killing in a very religious place for Sikhs. I would definitely recommend that movie. Many victims who viewed the movie said that the way it was portrayed was identical to what happened. Such as Sikhs being burned alive, slaughtered, beaten to death and women being raped and killed.


This was definitely a turning point in Indian and Sikh history. Basically known as a Sikh genocide which shouldn’t be forgotten. In June 1984, Indra Gandhi ordered an army raid on a Sikh temple in Punjab to flush out armed Sikh extremists, setting off a series of death threats. Now what she had planned was not right to some people. They thought it was very extreme and wrongful to do. Sikhs are there to help one another and provide selfless service yet we are tortured and traumatized regardless.

 

About the Author

Divyana Kaur


Divyana is a 16-year-old from Illinois. She loves helping out in the community by volunteering. Her interests include dancing, basketball as well as volunteering. Dentistry is what she hopes to pursue in the future. She enjoys traveling, learning about other cultures and spending time with her friends and family. Divyana is very passionate about being able to help others in any way she can.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page