top of page

How COVID-19 Impacted My Relationship with Waheguru

With the spread of COVID-19 over the last several months, all of our lives have changed significantly physically, mentally, as well as emotionally. Instead of face-to-face contact with friends, we are now connected through the power of technology. Instead of leaving the house to buy groceries, boxes full of groceries are seen outside our front doors. Personally speaking, these are just the minor changes that occurred in my life. The predominant impact occurred in my mind. Yes, I have grown older, more disciplined, and more patient. I have become more annoying to my sister and more of a trouble to my parents. Fortunately, all of these are frivolous compared to how my relationship with Waheguru Ji has developed. Many people may view COVID-19 as a troubling time, but for me, I truly believe that this time frame is a blessing in disguise.


When COVID became a health issue in my area, the first thing that came to my head was that I can’t go to the mall now. I didn’t even consider the fact that this meant fewer trips to the Gurdwara, fewer kirtans at other peoples’ houses, and fewer Sikh camps. In fact, to be 100% honest, I felt relieved. However, since the first time we went to the Gurdwara during COVID, I have asked my parents every Friday to get in the car and head towards the Guru’s door. My mind understood that it wasn’t missing the feeling of shopping for new clothes and meeting friends, it was missing the vibe of the gurdwara. I finally understood how much I was missing out on and how immature my past self was to leave after 5 minutes of listening to kirtan. I realized how blissful the keertan was and how wonderful it was to get to sit in the Gurdwara for an hour and focus on Waheguru. While I didn’t have prashad nor the chance to meet a friend or two, I was smiling regardless. Prior to COVID, I would always make excuses to stay at home, and when I did visit the Gurdwara, my only motivation was to chat with a friend in the Langar Hall. But, because of COVID, I eventually realized that the value of going to the Gurdwara overpowers going anywhere else. It wasn’t until I was deprived of the opportunity to meet my Guru that I cherished my time at the Gurdwara. I never acknowledged how impactful it was for me until this pandemic.


Preceding COVID, I would always make up excuses for not doing Paath (or daily prayer). The only time I would do nitnem was if my parents repeatedly told me to or whenever my family were travelling in the car. And even then, I would be gazing out the window, imagining something random and not paying attention. However, on the first day of the stay-at-home order, I realized that I had nothing to do for half the day. I would get ready and fully prepare for the day, only to have nothing to do after. Wanting to do something productive and beneficial, I started doing Jap Ji Sahib every morning. Before I knew it, I started taking a minimum of 30 minutes out of my day every morning to do 4/5 baanis. I would be lying if I said that I do this with full focus and dedication, but I try my best regardless. Because of COVID, I got the opportunity to realize what my time should really be spent doing instead of the usual sleeping, eating, and watching TV.


While I completed nitnem in the morning to the best of my ability and visited the Gurdwara quite often, I still didn’t feel as connected to the Guru as much as my heart desired to be. In an attempt to get closer to Waheguru, I started listening to Simran as I completed my homework. It is all Waheguru’s blessing that I am listening to Simran as I am writing this very article. I started paying attention as my parents so gracefully did Prakash in the morning and Sukhaasan in the evening. And, I tried my hardest to keep Waheguru’s name awake in my mind.


All this doesn’t mean that I am a better Sikh. I am far, far away from the Sikh I want to be in the future. The journey I’ve walked through in the past several months is all because of Waheguru’s kirpa (blessings). None of this would have happened if it wasn’t for Waheguru’s blessings. Waheguru’s power is so high and because of him, one small virus took the lives of many. One small virus caused all of our lives to change. And fortunately for me, one small virus sparked a huge shift in my mindset. COVID-19 made me realize the immense power Waheguru Ji has and how us humans are nothing compared to him. Everything we do in our daily lives, all the emotions we go through, all the hardships we face, even COVID, is a result of Waheguru’s kirpa.


ਸੁਣਿ ਮਨ ਮਿਤ੍ਰ ਪਿਆਰਿਆ ਮਿਲੁ ਵੇਲਾ ਹੈ ਏਹ ॥
sun man mitr piaariaa mil velaa hai eh ||
Listen, O my mind, my friend, my darling: now is the time to meet the Lord.
ਜਬ ਲਗੁ ਜੋਬਨਿ ਸਾਸੁ ਹੈ ਤਬ ਲਗੁ ਇਹੁ ਤਨੁ ਦੇਹ ॥
jab lag joban saas hai tab lag ih tan dheh ||
As long as there is youth and breath, give this body to Him.

In this beautiful shabad, Guru Sahib is telling me that now is the time to meet Waheguru. Now is the time to stop focusing on maya and focus on the True Being, the creator of all. I understand from this shabad that days when I don’t do simran or paath are useless, as I am getting caught up in worldly pleasures and not pondering on the greatness of Waheguru. Days, months, years, all going in vain because I don’t focus on Waheguru. These inspiring lines remind me to dedicate each and every breath, each and every second of my life, to the king of the kings, Waheguru Ji.


As a teenager, it is hard to focus on your inner self despite all the maya around us. A year ago, I was that Sikh who got distracted during keertan, couldn’t understand a single word of katha, and would make excuses to not do Paath. Now, I am still that same Sikh, except with one difference: I try. Whenever I feel like I am drifting away from my Guru, I listen to this shabad above and am reminded about the true purpose of my human life on Earth.


I wish I had the willpower to do Paath and Simran before. I wish I had the dedication to keep Waheguru in my mind before. Most importantly, I wish I understood why this life has been given to me. Yes, my relationship with Waheguru would have been stronger, but I would have also discovered true happiness earlier. However, the past is the past and whatever happened is because of Waheguru’s kirpa. I should instead focus on shaping my future and become more connected to my Guru. The shabad above reminds me to stop wasting my time and dedicate my each and every to The One who gave it to me.


COVID-19 has been a troubling and tough time for many, many individuals. It has taken the lives of over a million, affected over 55 million, and changed the daily lives of all people. However, it is important to remember that everything that happens is because of Waheguru’s will. It is with Waheguru’s will that this pandemic occurred and it will also be with Waheguru’s will that it ends.


Through the time of COVID, my relationship with Waheguru has changed greatly. I wouldn’t say I am a better Sikh, as I am far from where I hope to be in the future. I still make mistakes, my mind still has maya, and I’m not always willing to improve my Sikhi. But, my relationship with Waheguru is not determined by that. It’s determined by how I feel, what my heart longs for, and how close I feel to the Guru. It can never be explained through words, only through internal love. If it wasn’t for COVID, I would not have realized how calming it is to visit the Gurdwara. I would not have realized the importance of doing Paath and Simran. And, I would not have understood how great and marvelous Waheguru’s power is. I have yet to determine how close my relationship with Waheguru is; I only understand that I need to keep improving it every day.


Bhul Chuk Maaf,

 

About the Author

Dani Kaur

Dani Kaur is an 8th grader in Pleasanton, CA. As a prior camper at CSV (Camp Sikh Virsa), she has learned to embrace Sikhi and take it with her on her journey in life. She hopes to share her opinions on Sikhi and learn more about the different aspects of it. Along with Sikhi, Dani is interested in psychology, business, and personal development. Her hobbies include playing tennis, working out and writing. With SikhTeens, Dani aspires to make a difference in the Sikh community and walk with her brothers and sisters on the right path.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page