top of page

Live Through Kirtan

Have you ever listened to something that has cleared your mind, detached you from events in your life, released your stress, or guided you to a neutral mindset? For me, it was Naam Simran. The literal definition of Naam and Simran are name and mindful meditation, respectively. Naam Simran comes in many forms, but one is through Kirtan, the musical recitation of Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji. Singing itself has so many benefits but singing Gurbani helps to nurture your soul as well and transports the mind to a state of greater ease and stillness. Kirtan is an easy way of meditation that can improve your brain. It calms you, acts as an antidepressant, reduces stress, improves memory, enhances blood flow, and it’s a different way for us to listen to Gurbani; helping us understand the deeper meaning.

Sitting in the Darbar Hall, we listen to many different Shabads in many different raags, the melodic framework for Indian classical music. The people doing the Shabads are sometimes professional Ragi Jathe or sometimes little kids.

Many Gurdwaras across the world have Khalsa School programs where children can learn and practice Kirtan. Some even begin learning instruments such as the vaaja (harmonium) and tabla (Indian Classical Drums) from a young age. These children learn confidence from singing and playing in front of others.

My experience with Kirtan has been awesome. My mother enrolled me in the class when I was young and I was extremely anxious to start. I never liked it when the teacher would tell everyone to sing individually. I was a very shy and independent child, so this was really new for me. I started to develop skills in confidence along with learning how to sing. After my first performance, I felt really happy and excited. Kirtan was a blessing for me.

The word Kirtan is a Sanskrit word meaning “reciting the idea of a story.” In Sikhi, it refers to devotional singing. The Gurus used many instruments such as the Dilruba, the Sarangi, the Esraj, and an early version of the tabla. Bhai Mardana Ji played his Rabab on Guru Nanak Dev Ji’s Udaasis. Following Guru Nanak Dev Ji, the other Gurus sang praises to the Almighty Waheguru through Kirtan. Shabads are sung in different raags and those raags are indicated in Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji.

For anyone, Kirtan can do a lot. If you are sad, it will make you happy. If you are happy, it will make you joyous. If you are angry, it will calm you. If you are confused, it will guide you. But how and why is it important? When you go to the Gurdwara Sahib and listen to Kirtaniye doing a Shabad, that Shabad is stuck in your head for some time on the way back to your home. But imagine, if you have learned it and you’re doing Kirtan everyday in your room, home, at school, in the playground, and anywhere you go, Gurbani will be in your mind and soul for quite a long time. When I first started, I used to just sing without much understanding. However, I’ve been taught that it’s a totally different feeling when you not just sing from your throat, but the voice comes from inside you. And yes, it’s true! It takes you to the state of mind called Anand, eternal happiness.

Kirtan has helped me learn many things:

Kirtan helped improve my mental awareness. For example, when I learned this Shabad:


ਬਾਬੀਹਾ ਅੰਮ੍ਰਿਤ ਵੇਲੈ ਬੋਲਿਆ ਤਾਂ ਦਰ ਸੁਣੀ ਪੁਕਾਰ||


It got me wondering as to what a “Babiha” was. My research took me to find out that it is a “Common Hawk Cuckoo” and how this bird looks towards the clouds and repeatedly cries out for a drop of water. It doesn’t stop until some rain falls into its mouth. We should also be like this bird and always ask for Waheguru Ji’s blessings that will cool and soothe our body, heart, and mind. Also, we shouldn’t stop until we achieve our goals.

Another shabad took me close to nature:


ਬ੍ਰਹਮੁ ਪਾਤੀ ਬਿਸਨੁ ਡਾਰੀ ਫੂਲ ਸੰਕਰਦੇਉ||


Waheguru Ji is telling us that there is life in every leaf and flower. That stone idol, for which you tear off those leaves - that stone idol is lifeless. Brahma is in the leaves, Vishnu is in the branches, Shiva is in the flowers. This gave me a whole new perspective on plants and nature that I didn’t have before.

Furthermore, I used to think of Spring as just a season. But when I learned Basant Shabads and their meanings, the Spring season gave me a totally different view. I realized that when Spring starts, plants start to blossom. In the same way, our minds should blossom in association with Waheguru.

Additionally, I’ve seen that when people go on to high school or reach an older age, they tend to drop some activities outside of school. That made me think about it as well. Should I continue or will I get too busy? All of my questions were answered when I did this Shabad:


ਕਰਿ ਬੰਦੇ ਤੂ ਬੰਦਗੀ ਜਿਚਰੁ ਘਟ ਮਹਿ ਸਾਹੁ||

ਤੂ ਕਾਹੇ ਡੋਲਹਿ ਪ੍ਰਾਣੀਆ ਤੁਧੁ ਰਾਖੈਗਾ ਸਿਰਜਣਹਾਰੁ||


Waheguru Ji is telling us to do Naam Simran until our last breath. Why should we waver in fear when Waheguru Ji is there to take care of us? There are many, many more examples that Waheguru Ji has taught me through Gurbani and Kirtan Seva, as each word in Gurbani is a teaching in itself.

Kirtan also connects you with other people. It makes you feel joyful that you are giving Anand to others by reciting Gurbani. When little kids come to sit in the front of the Darbar Hall and just stare for a while, it makes you think that sometimes they don’t even understand what’s being said. But it’s the music that makes them sit so calmly. That’s the first step towards embracing Gurbani.

After doing Kirtan for a few years, I’ve started to learn the violin as well. I’ve been blessed to have such a great teacher, Professor Dalbir Singh. Waheguru Ji also gave me the chance to participate in International Kirtan Darbars where I have met more people from around the world and learned a lot from them as well. Kirtan gave me a unique identity for how I am recognized among many people. I am not scared or nervous anymore to get on the stage. Whether it is in school, a speech, or the Gurdwara, I am confident and I owe it all to Kirtan Seva.

ਕੀਰਤਨੁ ਨਿਰਮੋਲਕ ਹੀਰਾ||

The Kirtan of the Lord's Praise is a priceless diamond.


ਆਨੰਦ ਗੁਣੀ ਗਹੀਰਾ||

It is the ocean of bliss and virtue.


  • Ishmeet Kaur, 13, CA

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page