top of page

The POV of A Kaur In The 21st Century

Ever wondered what it's like being a Sikh teenager in the 21st century? Sikhi is so diverse and there are so many people who follow the path given to us by our Gurus. The path of a Sikh is very unique compared to other followers of other religions, and I have learned to cherish this difference as I have grown older. If you are anyone like me, you do Paath daily as a way to connect to Waheguru. However, these differences do not just include traditions, they include appearances, languages, culture, history and more. With these different aspects, I am going to share my experiences on these topics.


Language: For us Sikhs, we speak Punjabi and write in Gurmukhi. This is the writing technique Guru Angad Dev Ji gave us. It is important for all of us to learn Gurmukhi so we can connect with our roots and understand Gurbani. Most of us Sikh teens go to the Gurdwara every Sunday to learn Gurmukhi and study Gurmat, but it doesn’t always mean that we speak Punjabi all the time. In our Punjabi class, we use a mix of Punjabi and English, although we try to use mostly Punjabi, so that students of all levels of understanding can comprehend. At home, most teens use English instead. Most of us tend to confuse both languages and end up using both in the same sentence. My sister and I often end up describing stuff from English in Punjabi and vice versa. There have been multiple accounts when one of us has accidentally used a Punjabi phrase in school. With this, most teenagers tend to think that they don’t need to learn Punjabi or Gurmukhi as a way to move forward in life. However, this is not true at all, and we definitely need Gurmuki to move forward and closer to Waheguru. In order to be closer to Waheguru, we need the SGGS (Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji) to guide us. But, without Gurmukhi, we will not be able to use the guidance that the Gurus and others have given us. Without Gurmukhi, we cannot connect to our roots and find the deeper meaning of Sikhi.


Culture: One of the most sacred places in Sikhi is Harminder Sahib, or the Golden Temple. Obviously, since we don’t live in India, we don’t go to visit it very often. There is the Akal Takht there as well. It is part of the five Takhts (places of authority) of Sikhi. They are the spiritual and temporal center of Sikhism. All Takhts are Gurdwaras and the Sikh community recognizes them as places of significance. It is important to cherish these places instead of ignoring them. On weekends, many Sikhs gather at the Gurdwara, whereas other people meet up at parties. However, instead of feeling like an outsider, we should be proud of why we go there, which is to connect with Waheguru and find peace.


History: Sikhs were also persecuted during the time of the Mughal dynasty. Our Gurus wanted to teach Sikhs how to defend themselves and defend others. There is a martial art called Gatka that the Sikhs use to defend themselves and their beliefs in Waheguru. We wear turbans and grow our hair to show our faith in Waheguru. We have something called the “Panj Kakars”. It is five articles we wear and keep to show faith in Waheguru, one being the aforementioned “kes”, or hair. Kes is just one out of the five. The others include the kanga, a comb we keep so we can take care of the gift of Kes, kirpan, a small sword used for defense only. It shows the commitment we have to uphold justice and to defend ourselves and the oppressed in all situations. The kara, a bracelet all Sikhs wear that is typically made out of pure iron. Wearing it shows the commitment towards our Guru. It tells us to do only good deeds and not fall into bad habits. The kara is in a circular shape with no beginning or end to represent that Waheguru also has no beginning or end. The kachera is an undergarment that reminds Sikhs to practice self-control. These five kakars have different meanings, but they all serve for one purpose- always remembering Waheguru.


Societal Norms: Some days when I go to school, I find myself comparing my identity with other students. My long hair versus their short hair. My culture versus their culture. Then I remind myself of why I am who I am. Sikhi and Waheguru. I keep my hair long because it is a gift given to me by my Gurus. It is ok to feel out of place with a bunch of people that look very different from you. My school consists of mostly Indians and other Asians. I fortunately don’t get bullied or anything of the sort but with my insecurities, I can feel out of place. However, while remembering Waheguru, everything falls back to normal and I am proud to be a Sikh, proud to have my long hair and differences from others.


Dressing: In the Punjabi culture, we usually wear suits, or salwar kameez. Salwar kameez is typically a long top which goes until right above the knee and a loose pant that flares out. During regular days at school, jeans, a t-shirt, and a sweater usually suffices. When we go to the Gurdwara or any other traditional Indian event, we typically wear our suits. During a cultural day at our school, I try to show as much as I can about my Punjabi and Sikh culture by wearing my suit and telling people about it.


It is not very difficult being a Sikh teen in the 21st century as long as you have good guidance from your parents and the right mindset. There are many things to learn and experience as a Sikh. Being a teenager is hard, no doubt. But learning about your culture and where you came from will make it easier to find your place. In Sikhi, there are many different paths to take, but they all start and end with Waheguru. The same applies to life - in Sikhi, we should use the SGGS as our GPS for life.


1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page